God of War Wins Record Number of NAVGTR Awards


The National Academy of Video Game Trade Reviewers (NAVGTR), a non-profit media organization of 1,100 media voters and 8,800 subscribers, has announced the winners of its 18th annual video game awards program, including God of War (2018) as Game of the Year.

The NAVGTR Awards honor video game art, technology, and production across 59 competitive categories. These recognize outstanding achievements in animation, art direction, character design, controls, game design, game engineering, musical score, sound effects, writing, and more. Since its inception, the academy has recognized more than 3,600 talented individuals, spotlighting recognizable names and newcomers alike with an assortment of awards dedicated to new intellectual properties, virtual reality, and other emergent sectors of the industry.

This year, SIE Santa Monica Studio’s God of War led the pack, receiving a record-breaking 16 awards and beating out the previous high-water mark set by Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us in 2013. Boosted by other outstanding titles, such as Marvel’s Spider-Man and Detroit: Become Human, publisher Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE) took home a remarkable 23 awards in total this year.

Winners will be represented on March 30 at the War of Awards ceremony at PAX East 2019.

Number of Awards Won per Game

16 God of War

03 Marvel’s Spider-Man

03 Detroit: Become Human

02 The MISSING: JJ Macfield and the Island of Memories

02 Tetris Effect

02 Red Dead Redemption 2

02 Moss

02 Forza Horizon 4

02 Beat Saber

Number of Awards Won per Development Studio

16 SIE Santa Monica Studio

03 Quantic Dream SA

03 Insomniac Games, Inc.

02 White Owls Inc.

02 Rockstar

02 Polyarc, Inc.

02 Playground Games Ltd

02 Monstars Inc., Resonair Inc.

02 Hyperbolic Magnetism

Number of Awards Won per Publisher

23 Sony Interactive Entertainment

03 Nintendo


02 Rockstar Games, Inc.

02 Polyarc, Inc.

02 Microsoft Studios

02 Hyperbolic Magnetism

02 Enhance Games

02 Electronic Arts, Inc.

02 Arc System Works Co., Ltd.

Hidetaka “SWERY” Suehiro, president and CEO of White Owls, developer of The MISSING: JJ Macfield and the Island of Memories said in regards to winning two awards, Game, Original Adventure and Song, Original or Adapted:”We are all the majority, but if we look at ourselves in another light, we’re also minorities in our own ways. The story the main character experiences is a journey we all have to undergo. In order to make The MISSING a slightly special game, White Owls and I challenged ourselves in many ways. We are all deeply thankful for this award, our fans who continue to support us, and everyone else involved.”

“2018 was another incredible year for video games and NAVGTR is once again proud to honor the people behind the screen whose hard work and creativity brought these titles into existence,” said Thomas Allen, executive director, NAVGTR. “We’d like to congratulate all the nominees and winners and look forward to seeing everyone at PAX East for more fun at War of Awards.”

The full list of winners can be found here. To learn more about NAVGTR, visit the official site.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.