This August marks the tenth anniversary of gamescom, one of the biggest gaming events in the world, where publishers and developers gather around from across the globe to showcase what they’ve been working on so far. The event isn’t known for high profile video game reveals but is better recognized for the slew of game demos it hosts each year. But this year tables have turned a bit.

Gamescom 2018 will showcase a plethora of game demos from big publishers/developers including Activision, Ubisoft, Nintendo, and Focus Home Interactive to name a few. However, this year the event isn’t only about new gameplay footage, updates and demos, but publishers are willing to debut some world premiers as well.

“For the first time international publishers such as Ubisoft and THQ Nordic will be presenting global premieres at the gamescom opening ceremony, ” reads a blog post on Gamescom’s official website. THQ Nordic will be introducing “a previously unannounced title based on one of the publisher’s established brands”. DONTNOD is gearing up for Life Is Strange 2’s first public premiere.

Furthermore, a new announcement is due to drop from Koch Media and its publishing label Deep Silver. Bandai Namco will be announcing a brand new game “from a European developer”. Interestingly, few of these newly debuted titles will also be available to play at the publishers’ booths directly after the presentation.

You can visit gamescom’s official website to watch the opening ceremony on August 21 at 2am PT / 5am ET / 2:30pm IST.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.